Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology

Current Status
Not Enrolled
Get Started


The qualification has been accredited to the Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) and each qualification has its own unique Qualification Accreditation Number (QAN). This number will appear on the learner’s final certification document. Each unit with the qualification has its own RQF code.

The purpose of the qualifications is to provide learners with the technical skills and knowledge needed to work in the information technology (IT) industry. We hope that centres and learners take the opportunity to learn a great deal from this suite of qualifications that will provide relevant new skills and qualities.

It is envisaged that the qualifications will encourage both academic and professional development so that you learners move forward to realise not just their own potential but also that of organisations across a broad range of sectors.

The Diplomas are accredited at Level 4 and has a total equivalence of 120 credits.


The rationale for the qualification is that it provides a career path for learners who wish to develop a broad base of knowledge and skills that will enable them to work in a variety of roles in the IT industry, notably in Java programming, website design or PC maintenance. The technical skills and knowledge delivered through the successful achievement of the qualification are required and recognised internationally. It covers:

  • IT and IT ethics
  • mathematics and statistics for IT
  • PC maintenance and operating systems
  • computer graphics editing and database concepts
  • logical and physical networking
  • web design and programming
  • Graphical User Interface (GUI)
  • programming concepts and Java for Android programming

The rationale for the programmes is to provide a career path for learners who wish to develop their management and entrepreneurial capabilities within the business sector. The outcomes of the Diplomas, which are all recognised UK Qualifications, are for learners to develop the skills required by organisations globally.


The qualifications provide the opportunity for individuals to forge a career in IT by seeking a greater knowledge and understanding of the industry, and to support the individual’s development into technical positions. Overall aims include:

  1. To enable learners to apply analytical and evaluative techniques to business in private and public sectors
  2. To enhance analytical and evaluative skills relating to business across a number of industries
  3. To develop the learner’s ability to recognise and reflect on the process of personal learning and development, which facilitates the enhancement of key personal, sociable and other transferable skills
  4. To encourage the learner’s self-reflection, analytical, intellectual and transferable skills.


The overall learning outcomes for all IT -related programmes are:

  1. To understand and apply the principles of IT in a range of business environments
  2. To understand and apply the principles in a specific environment
  3. To improve the employability of learners by allowing them to explore the relationship between management theories and their practical application in the IT world.
  4. Analyse problem solving techniques specific to business and industry
  5. Select, collate, review and analyse information form a wide range of sources
  6. Effectively use verbal and communication skills
  7. Work independently and as part of a team
  8. Manage one’s own personal development and growth.

These are the overall learning outcomes in line with Level 4 equivalences.


The qualifications have been designed to be accessible without artificial barriers that restrict access and progression. Entry to the qualifications will be through centre interview and learners will be expected to hold the following:

  • Demonstrated some ability and possess qualifications at Level 3, for example ‘A’ Levels or vocational awards;
  • Spent some time in an organisational role and shown they have capability and drive to develop
  • Seeking further professional development and to gain work related skills and know-how.
  • In certain circumstances, managers with considerable experience but no formal qualifications may be considered, subject to interview and being able to demonstrate their ability to cope with the demands of the programme.
  • In the case of applicants whose first language is not English, then IELTS 6 (or equivalent) is required.
  • International Qualifications will be checked for appropriate matriculation to UK Higher Education postgraduate programmes. The applicants are normally required to produce two supporting references, at least one of which should preferably be academic.


Unit ReferenceMandatory UnitsLevelTQTCreditsGLH
4IT01Information Technology and IT Ethics420020100
4IT02Mathematics and Statistics for IT420020100
4IT03PC Maintenance and Operating Systems420020100
4IT04Computer Graphics Editing and Database Concepts420020100
Elective Units
4IT05Logical IT Networking420020100
4IT07Web Design420020100